Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame: Class Of 2020 Announced!!!!

The votes have been counted and the following have been elected for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame:

  • The Doobie Brothers- two former elected members are deceased
  • Depeche Mode
  • Whitney Houston- deceased
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Notorious B.I.G.- deceased
  • T. Rex- three elected members are deceased

The Ahmet Ertegun Award will go to Jon Landau, the head of the Hall of Fame's nominating committee andBruce Springsteen's manager. This award is "given to songwriters, producers, disc jockeys, record executives, journalists and other industry professionals who have had a major influence on Rock and Roll." Ahmet Ertegun is the late co-founder of Atlantic Records and chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The Doobie Brothers finished third in the Fan Vote and were elected their first time on the ballot. We spoke with two of their members yesterday (Tuesday) -- founding singer and guitarist Tom Johnston, and Michael McDonald, who, in the mid-'70s, filled in for an ailing Johnston, and who'll be part of this year's 50th anniversary tour.

In addition to Johnston and McDonald, the other Doobies set for induction are:

  • Patrick Simmons
  • John McFee
  • Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter
  • John Hartman
  • Michael Hossack- deceased
  • Keith Knudsen- deceased
  • Tiran Porter

The 35th annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on May 2nd at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland and will be broadcast live, for first time, on HBO.

Tickets go on sale February 27th at 10 a.m. ET at or by calling 800-745-3000.

Here are the artists who were nominated, but failed to receive enough votes from members of the music industry, journalists and past inductees:

  • Pat Benatar
  • Judas Priest
  • Thin Lizzy
  • Motorhead
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Soundgarden
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • MC5
  • Kraftwerk
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan

Following the end of the Fan Vote last Friday, Pat Benatar and her guitarist, bandleader, collaborator and husband Neil Giraldo posted: "Thank you from both of us for taking time out of your busy lives to vote 882,207 times! However this turns out, know that we are humbled and grateful for your love and support! You all continue to amaze us, you are simply the best."

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content